Writers Guild Awards 2017 Winners: The Complete List

The 69th annual edition of the Writers Guild of America Awards was held simultaneously in Los Angeles and New York City on February 19. Writers for the films "Moonlight" and "Arrival" won top Writers Guild of America awards on Sunday, boosting the films' chances in the upcoming Academy Awards.

The winners were:

Original Screenplay: ‘Moonlight’

Comedy/Variety Sketch Series: ‘Saturday Night Live’

Comedy/Variety Talk Series: ‘Last Week Tonight With John Oliver’

Drama Series: ‘The Americans’

Documentary Screenplay: ‘Command and Control’

 Children's Episodic: Gortimer Gibbon's Life on Normal Street, "Mel vs. The Night Mare of Normal Street"

Children's Long Form: ‘Once Upon a Sesame Street Christmas’

Daytime Drama: ‘General Hospital’

On-Air Promotion (Television, New Media or Radio): "CBS On-Air Reel"

TV News Script - Analysis, Feature or Commentary: "CBS Sunday Morning Almanac"

TV News Script - Regularly Scheduled, Bulletin or Breaking Report: "Muhammad Ali: Remembering a Legend"

Television Graphic Art and Animation: "The Real History of Cinco de Mayo"

Comedy/Variety Specials: Triumph's Election Special’

Outstanding Achievement in Video Game Writing: ‘Uncharted 4: A Thief's End’

Original Short Form New Media: ‘The Commute, "The Party"’

Quiz and Audience Participation: ‘Hollywood Game Night’

Radio Documentary: "Chernobyl: 30 Years Later"

Radio News Script - Regularly Scheduled, Bulletin or Breaking Report: "World News This Week"

Radio News Script - Analysis, Feature or Commentary: "Morley Safer: A Journalist's Life"

Animation: BoJack Horseman, "Stop the Presses"

Documentary Script – ‘Other Than Current Events: Jackie Robinson, Part One’

Documentary Script - Current Events: Frontline, "The Choice" & "Inside Asaad's Syria"

Adapted Short Form New Media: ‘Fear the Walking Dead’

Adapted Long Form: ‘The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story’

Original Long Form: ‘Confirmation’

New Series: ‘Atlanta’

Comedy Series: ‘Atlanta’

Adapted Screenplay: ‘Arrival’

Episodic Comedy: ‘Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt’, "Kimmy Goes on a Play Date"

Episodic Drama: ‘This Is Us’, "The Trip"

WGA's Valentine Davies Award for Humanitarian Service: Richard Curtis

2017 Jean Renoir Award for International Screenwriting Achievement: Abbas Kiarostami

2017 Morgan Cox Award: Dan Wilcox

Paul Selvin Award: Susannah Grant

Laurel Award for Screenwriting Achievement: Oliver Stone

Animation Writing Award for Lifetime Achievement: Mike Judge

Paddy Chayefsky Laurel Award for Television Writing Achievement: Aaron Sorkin

-Devashree Goenka