Twitter Adds Four More Indian Languages

The micro-blogging giant Twitter on Friday added support to four more Indian languages to both the web and its Android app. You will now be able to enjoy Twitter in Gujarati, Kannada, Marathi and Tamil.

Bengali and Hindi are already available on Twitter. The company said it updated its Android app to support the new languages.

According to Twitter, these four languages were partially translated by a community of Twitter users via the translation centre. "We couldn't have done it without their help. By supporting Twitter in these languages, we are making our platform for live, public conversations more accessible to Indians all over the country," it said.

Earlier this year, Twitter introduced the ability to use hashtags in Indic languages. These included Devanagari script based languages like Hindi, Marathi, Sanskrit, Nepali, as well as Bengali, Assamese, Punjabi, Gujarati, Oriya, Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam and Kannada.

In order to change the language, users will have to select the language of their choice from ‘Settings’ in the drop down menu on the profile.

Android users will simply have to change the language settings on their mobile devices to any of these four languages.

Also, Twitter recently teamed up with Microsoft and came up with a new Twitter app for Windows 10. The new Twitter app is going to be a universal Windows app. The new app will offer instant access to top tweets, photos and video. Users will now be able to see tweets in live tiles from the Start menu.

-Devashree Goenka