Shah Rukh Khan and Aditya Chopra invited to join Oscar Academy's Class of 2018

Shah Rukh Khan, Soumitra Chatterjee, Naseeruddin Shah, Tabu, Madhuri Dixit, Ali Fazal, and Anil Kapoor are among the Indians invited to be a part of the Oscar Academy's Class of 2018. Apart from them are producers Aditya Chopra and Guneet Monga, and music artistes Usha Khanna and Sneha Khanwalkar.

The announcement was made on the official website of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Science, as part of efforts by the Oscar-giving body to include more women, people of colour, and international filmmakers.

“Dangal” editor Ballu Saluja, costume designers Manish Malhotra and Dolly Ahluwalia, cinematographer Anil Mehta, actress Madhabi Mukherjee, production designers Subrata Chakraborty and Amit Ray are also part of the list.

Ali, who featured with Judi Dench in “Victoria and Abdul”, tweeted, "So so humbled to be included with the greats. Thank you The Academy for this membership. I look forward to this friendship for a long time…Sending my love from India."

Monga, known for producing “The Lunchbox” and “Masaan”, wrote on Instagram, "Honoured to have been invited to become a member of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Class of 2018!! Thank you, Academy."

The Academy extended invitations to a record 928 artistes and executives who have distinguished themselves by their contributions to theatrical motion pictures across the world.
Those who accept the invitations will be the only additions to the Academy's membership in 2018, read a statement. Among the invitees, 17 are Oscar winners, while 92 are Oscar nominees, including Timothee Chalamet and Daniel Kaluuya.