New Prince Albums Announced

Two new Prince albums - including a collection of previously unreleased songs have been announced by music labels Warner Bros. and NPG Records which will include a 40-track greatest hits collection called ‘Prince 4Ever’ that will be out next month.

‘Prince 4Ever,’ set to be released Nov. 22, will include 40 of Prince's fan favorites, including "Kiss," "Little Red Corvette," "The Most Beautiful Girl in the World" and "When Doves Cry."  The album will also feature a previously unreleased song recorded in 1982, titled "Moonbeam Levels." It will also include a 12-page booklet featuring never-seen-before photos shot by legendary photographer Herb Ritts.

It will be followed by a deluxe, remastered edition of ‘Purple Rain’ — the original soundtrack to his 1984 film of the same name — to be released in early 2017. That edition will be accompanied by a second album of previously unreleased material. The label says these plans were already underway and approved by Prince before he died on April 21.

-Devashree Goenka