National Film Awards 2019: Winners

Finally the wait has come to end, as the 66th National Film Awards were announced on 9th August in New Delhi.

Like every year, even this time awards were given in 31 categories. Around 419 films competed for the award. Some of the movies that bagged National Awards are “Andhadhun”, “Padman”, “ Badhaai Ho”, “Padmaavat” and “Uri: The Surgical Strike”.

"Uri: The Surgical Strike" bagged four awards, while "Andhadun" and "Padmaavat" won three awards each. For the first time ever, this year an award for film friendly state has been introduced.

Here is a list of a few winners:

Best Actor (Male): Ayushmann Khurrana for “Andhadhun”, Vicky Kaushal for “Uri: The Surgical Strike”
Best Actor (Female): Keerthy Suresh for “Mahanati”
Best Supporting Actor (Male): Swanand Kirkire for “Chumbak”
Best Supporting Actor (Female): Surekha Sikri for “Badhaai Ho”
Best Feature Film: “Hellaro”
Best Direction: Aditya Dhar for “Uri: The Surgical Strike”
Best Original Screenplay:  Rahul Ravindran for “Chi La Sow”
Best Adapted Screenplay: Sriram Raghavan, Arijit Biswas, Yogesh Chandekar, Hemant Rao & Pooja Ladha Surti for “Andhadhun”
Best Popular Film providing wholesome entertainment: “Badhaai Ho”
Best Hindi Film: “Andhadhun”
Best Film on Social Issues: “Padman”
Best Music Direction: Sanjay Leela Bhansali for “Padmaavat”
Best Dialogue: “Tarikh”
Best Female Playback Singer: Bindu Malini for Maayavi Manave from Nathicharami
Best Male Playback Singer: Arjit Singh for Binte Dil from “Padmaavat”
Best Background Score: Shashwat Sachdev for “Uri: The Surgical Strike”
Best Cinematography: MJ Radhakrishnan for “Olu”
Best Lyrics: Maayavi Manave… from “Nathicharami”
Best Choreography:  Kruti Mahesh Madya & Jyoti Tomar for Ghoomar from “Padmaavat”
Best Costume Design: “Mahanati”
Best Special Effects: Srushti Creative Studio for “Awe” and Unifi Media for “KGF”
Best Action Direction: Vikram More & Anbu Ariv for “KGF”
Best Makeup artist: Ranjith for “Awe”
Best Film on Environment Conservation: “Paani”
Best Children’s Film: “Sarkari Hiriya Prathamika Shale Kasargodu”
Best Film on Sports: “Swimming through the Darkness”
Best Environment Film: “The World’s Most Famous Tiger”
Best Arts and Culture Film: “Bunkar: The Last of The Varanasi Weavers”
Best Cinematography: Ajay Bedi & Vijay Bedi for “The Secret Life of Frogs”
Best Short Fiction Film: “Kharvas”

-Akhila kakarala