Google Doodle celebrates the commencement of the FIFA Women's World Cup 2019

As the eight edition of the FIFA Women's World Cup kick starts today, Google has dedicated a special doodle to mark this occasion.

The world cup matches will be played in France and 24 countries are taking part. Each match will be played in nine cities in July. The teams that are going to play are: Argentina, Brazil, Cameroon, Australia, Chile, Canada, China PR, England, Germany, France, Italy, Jamaica, Korea Republic, Netherlands, Japan, New Zealand, Norway, Scotland, South Africa, Nigeria, Thailand, USA, Spain, and Sweden. At this year’s world cup matches, countries that are going to take part for the first time are: Scotland, South Africa, Chile and Jamaica.  Only two teams will be qualified into the knockout rounds among the six qualifying groups. These two teams will play with four best third-placed teams.

The first match is going to take place between South Korea and the host country France in Parc des Princes in Paris. The final match will be played on July 7th in the city on Lyon.

-Akhila Kakarala