Chennai Super Kings Thrash Delhi Capitals To Enter The IPL Finals

The defending champions, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) beat the Delhi Capitals (DC) to enter their eigth final in the Indian Premier League. The Chennai bowlers excelled with the ball to restrict the opposition to 147/9 and chased down the target in just 19 overs.

The Delhi Capitals lost two valuable wickets within the powerplay. Prithvi Shaw and Shikhar Dhawan were dismissed for 5 and 18 runs respectively. Colin Munro who was promoted to bat at three, scored only 27 runs from 24 balls. The team also lost Rishabh Pant in the end. However, Ishant Sharma got the better off spinner Ravindra Jadeja as he smashed the last two balls of their innings for 10 runs. The DC batsmen failed to strike as three out of the five danger batsmen fell for less than 25 runs.

Chasing the modest total, Faf du Plessis (50 off 39 balls; 7x4s, 1x60 and Shane Watson (50 off 32; 3x4s, 4x6s) got CSK off to a flying start, generating 81 runs in 10.2 overs. It was a great team effort as Chennai was superior in all three departments of the game. With this win, CSK enter the finals for the eigth time and their fourth versus the Mumbai Indians. In their last three meetings, CSK won the battle in 2010 while MI emerged victorious in 2013 and 2015.

The Chennai Super Kings and the Mumbai Indians are the most successful franchisees in the Indian Premier League. Though the stats favour Mumbai, it will be interesting to see what the legendary captain, Mahendra Singh Dhoni has in store for us as both teams will want to win the trophy for the fourth time. The epic final will be played on Sunday, 12th May at the Rajiv Gandhi  International Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad.

-Nitasha Silesh
Pic courtesy: IANS