2017 MTV Video Music Awards: The Complete List Of Winners

From the eight-times nominated Kendrick Lamar to Katy Perry’s turn as host to new categories including Artist of the Year and Best Fight Against the System, the 2017 edition of the MTV Video Music Awards was a memorable one.

The winners of the night were:

Video of the year: "HUMBLE." by Kendrick Lamar

Artist of the year: Ed Sheeran

Best new artist: Khalid

Best collaboration: "I Don't Wanna Live Forever" by Zayn and Taylor Swift

Best hip-hop video: "HUMBLE." by Kendrick Lamar

Best dance: "Stay" by Alessia Cara and Zedd

Best pop video: "Down" by Fifth Harmony

Best fight against the system: "Black Spiderman" by Logic ft. Damian Lemar Hudson (Race & LGBTQ), "Immigrants (We Get the Job Done)" by The Hamilton Mixtape (Immigration), "Light" by Big Sean (Race), "Scars to Your Beautiful" by Alessia Cara (Body Image), "Stand Up / Stand N Rock #NoDAPL" by Taboo ft. Shailene Woodley (Environment) and "Surefire" by John Legend (Immigration and Anti-Muslim hate)

Best cinematography: "HUMBLE." by Kendrick Lamar (Scott Cunningham)

Best direction: "HUMBLE." by Kendrick Lamar (Spencer Graves)

Best visual effects: "HUMBLE." by Kendrick Lamar (Company: Timber/Lead: Jonah Hall)

Best choreography: "Fade," Kanye West (Teyana Taylor, Guapo, Jae Blaze & Derek 'Bentley' Watkins)

Best editing: "Wyclef Jean" by Young Thug (Ryan Staake & Eric Degliomini)

Song of the summer: "XO Tour Llif3" by Lil Uzi Vert

Michael Jackson Vanguard Award: Pink

-Devashree Goenka